Of Spinach

Oh, spinach. It’s been a long, long time.

I have resisted the lures of this dark leafy green for years.  Childhood encounters with spinach proved less than satisfactory, and so I’ve resisted spinach salad, spinach lasagna, spinach pesto, and, alas, my grandmother’s spinach cheese pastry thing (that’s not the official name, but that’s what it is.).

But now it’s time to give spinach a second chance.

Before The New York Times put up its unfriendly online pay wall, I checked out some of the recipes available in the “Recipes for Health” section (I know, totally uncharacteristic).  Mr. O and I are big fans of quinoa, so despite the given name of a particular recipe (Baked Quinoa with Spinach and Cheese — I recommend googling it), I decided it was worth braving the spinach.

[However, I wasn’t having anything to do with the Gruyere the recipes calls for. Too Swiss. I substituted shredded Parmesan.]

The result of the braving:  An absolutely delicious casserole.

Casserole in our favorite red Le Creuset (thanks AS!)

Look at that delicious cheesy crust!

Basically, the casserole is quinoa, spinach, onion, garlic, egg, and cheese. Simple. And very tasty:

Baked Quinoa Cheesy Thing and Salad

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Of Spinach

  1. Shire Squire says:

    I hope your grandmother in the frozen North sees this post– does she know what you used to do with the spinach she put on your sandwiches???

  2. Mrs. O says:

    Forsooth, I know not. I forgot that I told you!

    Not as bad as hiding mushrooms behind the bookcase, of course . . .

Leave a Reply

