Food Spectacular!

Sometimes, we have cooking spectaculars.  Today is one of those days, my friends.

Because there’s work to be done tomorrow, we pre-made meatballs and marinara for tomorrow’s (no doubt) delightful dinner with JH and AP.  Sorry, no picture.

Those were just the first two items.  Then we made:

Kale Chips

Kale chips are ridiculously easy to make. Rip up some kale, toss it with olive oil and salt, and roast at 375 for fifteen minutes.  Ta-da! Crunchy kale. Bonus: I found out that you can dip it in vinegar. Salt and vinegar kale chips = my new favorite. Not everyone likes vinegar as much as I do, though.

Then, I made a a chocolate truffle pie (pre-made graham cracker crust. You know me people.), so that it can chill overnight. Yes!

Chocolate Truffle Pie

Meanwhile, Mr. O made our actual dinner:

Perfect Steak and Potatoes

Mr. O marinated the steak to perfection and it was awesome. Then he cooked the potatoes in a cast iron skillet, seasoned them with rosemary, and they were awesome too. Meat and potatoes. Don’t knock it.

And then there were beets. Lots of beets.

Um, 9 jars of beets.

Nine jars of pickled beets. (And 3 jars of cranberry sauce) I have no idea if they’ll be good, since I’ve never made them before. And we have to wait a week to find out.  Oh my.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food Spectacular!

  1. Sarah says:

    I love kale chips! So easy. So wonderful.

Leave a Reply

