Summer Knitting Project

This summer, my Dear Friends MA and JH taught me how to knit. Knitting is awesome. It is calming and productive and other nice things.

I’m a slow learner, but after a few scarves I felt brave enough to try a baby blanket for my Dear Friend HH, who is expecting a small person in December. The way I figured it, no matter how humble the effort, at least it would be machine washable. The blanket was delivered yesterday, so it’s no longer a surprise and is safe to post about.

Because the baby may be a boy or a girl, I went with a gender-neutral color, which just happens to be the color of my childhood (and adolescent, let’s not kid) security blanket, Bessie.

So off I went, with no pattern in mind (I still don’t understand how to read those things).  I ended up making 16 squares of (roughly) the same size, and then sewing them all together using the long ends.  Here’s what it looks like:

baby blanket on couch

Here’s a close up of the right side:

And here, for LW, is a picture of the wrong side, and one of the several sewing stitches I used to put it all together.

wrong side.

I may have oversewn, because I am Terribly Afraid of Unraveling.

The End!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer Knitting Project

  1. LW says:

    How BEAUTIFUL! Is that knit 2/purl 2? While I have made a few squares for my first blanket knitting adventure, I have yet to decide what method I intend on using. There are many opinions online as to how one should knit a blanket.
    I might need you to show me in person how you sewed the pieces together. That looks fantastic.

    • Mrs. O says:

      It’s just good old-fashioned garter stitch! I decided to keep it simple since it was my first attempt at a blanket. You shall have to come for a visit/knit party. When/where are you moving?

Leave a Reply

